The full-time creative writing faculty at KU has been widely published and anthologized and has been awarded such distinctions as the Gertrude Stein Award, the Kenyon Review Prize, the Sue Kaufman Prize, the Kennedy Center Gold Medallion, and the Pushcart Prize. In recent years, visiting writers Michael Chabon, China Mieville, Salman Rushdie, Rita Dove, Cristina Garcia, Kent Haruf, Ted Kooser, Sherman Alexie, Cherrie Moraga, Naruddin Farah, Diane Williams, Paul Muldoon, Sam Lipsyte, Salvadore Plascencia, and many others have come to the KU campus to give seminars and readings.

Darren Canady
Associate Professor
3138 Wescoe Hall

MFA (Tisch School of the Arts - New York University)
Artists Diploma (The Juilliard School)

Joseph Harrington
3035 Wescoe Hall

Ph.D. (California, Berkeley)

Kij Johnson
Associate Professor
3021 Wescoe Hall

M.F.A. (North Carolina State University, Raleigh)



Associate Professor
3031 Wescoe Hall

M.A. (California, Davis)

Laura Moriarty
Associate Professor
3042 Wescoe Hall

M.A. (Kansas)

KU's MFA students and PhD students in creative writing come from a wide variety of places and backgrounds, and they often gather for activities and readings. The Kansas Writers Collective, formed by the students in the graduate creative writing program, participated in a panel discussion at the Association of Writers and Writing Programs (AWP) in Denver, Colorado, organized readings, workshops, social and community outreach events in Lawrence and the surrounding communities, and was instrumental creating KUs first graduate student-run literary journal, Beecher's. For a list of KU alumni and their publications, please see the Published KU Alumni Page. Person profiles for grad students




this week's Departmental News Bulletin
information about First and Second Year English
information about Undergraduate Degrees
information about Graduate Degrees
Faculty Profiles
Course Listings
Follow us:

Twitter Facebook 

Facebook Feed
Twitter Feed